SB2k15!

Spring Break Adventures!

Lots of things to report.

The winter term ended last week, and with some foresight and preparation, grading was fairly painless.  I did have to stay up pretty late one night to grade tests, but I got to sleep in the next day.  This past term was pretty hard, I don’t know what happened, but my classes seemed a bit more difficult than usual.  I taught a basic math class that covered topics like arithmetic, proportions, percentages and unit conversions.  This one, I expected to be a challenge, not least because at the beginning of the term almost everyone in the class self-reported that they hated math.  My Business Calculus class was more challenging than usual due to a severe lacking in algebra skills and a really disheartening strain of academic dishonesty.  In any case, I’m continuing to learn how to deal with all of these issues, and by no means am I blameless in the shortcomings.  The handful of really great, interested students, as always were the saving grace that remind me that someone is getting something about of my work.

The first big adventure of spring break was moving out of my old room in an unfortunate living situation into a new house with a couple of friends!  The new house is a big space for music and all sorts of creative endeavors.  There are two porches, both with great views of the Olympics, and lots of local culture close by.

New Digs
New Digs

Second, our friend ::Charlotte:: got married in a big party out on Camano Island.  Most of the wedding party stayed in cabins on Cama Beach.  We got a group of the musicians, James and Isaac, Dave and Kristian.  The ceremony was great, the afterparty was fun and hanging out in the cabin was a blast.

Came Beach Cabins
Came Beach Cabins

After the wedding, Sugar and I took off for Walla Walla to stay with her 92-year-old great-grandmother for the week, and to do some stuff around the house for her and take it easy in a much slower-paced environment than Seattle.  Yesterday, we drove about an hour or so north to Palouse Falls.

I Hope we don't run out of gas
I Hope we don’t run out of gas

The rolling green hills turned into big canyons along the way and eventually brought us to a huge Waterfall.  We hiked out and around and down to the bottom of the falls.

Palouse Falls from the Top
Palouse Falls from the Top
See if you can spot me
See if you can spot me
Palouse Falls from the Bottom
Palouse Falls from the Bottom

On the way back, we ran out of gas about 10 miles outside of town.  I offered to run back in (which would have helped with my half-marathon training) but Nana came to the rescue with a can of gas.  Everything turned out okay, and we ended up waiting on the side of the road in what looked like a Windows 95 desktop.

Tron, or something
Tron, or something
Leave a Reply

