Perpetual Awe

So I’ve been out here for what has been one of the most intense week and a half of all time.  I’ve done something outdoors every single day, and most of the things have pushed my body to its limit.  I’ve been rock climbing, mountain biking, trail running, whitewater rafting, bouldering and mountaineering.  I have tons of bruises and scratches and blisters and abrasions, and every single muscle in my body hurts and I feel awesome.

The third day I was here, I tagged along on a venture up the Grand Teton.  We left at 1:30 in the morning and got back at 5:30 in the evening.  It was one of the most exhausting things I’ve ever done, but it was totally worth it.  I’m glad I did it so early, or else I would think about climbing it every time I saw it, which by the way is all the time from the living room window.

ImageImage

Wednesday, I went to check out the community big band and to meet the bass player.  Turns out there were two bass players there, but only two trombones.  I mentioned that I used to play trombone a long time ago.  Within minutes, someone rummaged up an extra horn, and I became the new second trombone player.  Haha.  Tonight, I went to check out some jazz and sat in and made what are hopefully some good connections.

Today, I went on a 40 mile bike ride through Teton National Park.  This place is so crazy and it has been completely surreal the entire time I’ve been here.  OH YEAH! I saw a black bear run across the path about 50 yards in front of me.  COOL!

Image

I’ve been spending a bit of time every day at this bouldering park right near Carl’s place.  My fingers hurt and my forearms are sore, but I am determined to get better at this stuff, especially before a trip to Rock City at the end of September.  Phew.

Image

Anyway, now I’m cat sitting.

Image

One thought on “Perpetual Awe

Leave a Reply

