Donut-Ception and the End of Mathematics

At least for a little while, that is.  I have quite a bit of catching up to do, so I’m going to do it in a few posts.

Firstly,
I finished my degree.  I am a mathematical master.  I made sure to tell my students to call me that.  I have posted a copy of my paper ::here:: along with my best shot at an explanation.  Teaching, by the way, was awesome.  I got to TA for MTH255 which is essentially Calculus 3, part ii.  Son of Calculus.  We went through line integrals and surface integrals and Stokes’ Theorem and Divergence Theorem.  This was great for me since this is stuff that I’ve learned before, but never totally solidified until I had to explain it to someone else.  Since the Math GRE is about half Calculus, hopefully this past term, and the whole rest of my teaching experience, will be a good boost when I take it again.  I got my best reviews from my students after this term.  I got 15 or so replies out of 70 or so students, and a lot of them say that I am the best TA they have ever had.  Speaking of which, I want to tell you a joke.  What does the “B” in Benoit B. Mandelbrot stand for?  It stands for Benoit B. Mandelbrot.

Oh yeah, my defense went well.  I brought donuts and used the word “donut-ception”.  The rest of the term finished out smoothly, with a take-home test that I worked out fairly leisurely.  Then they gave me this thing:
Image

So that week was quite the adventure.  After I finished my defense, I went home, picked up Sheila, Ben and Jake and we drove to Eugene to see Hundred Waters open up for The xx.  Again, H-dub was way better than the more popular group for which they were opening, and I would venture to say that the Eugene performance was the best I have ever seen them.  If somehow you’re reading this, and you haven’t heard them, GO LISTEN.  ::Hundred Waters::

Image

In any case, having put school behind me, it quickly became party time.  I played my last few gigs with my groups.  I got one more vineyard gig in with Van Meyers.  My last Cadillac Lunch gig was a trio experience with me and Winston and Kevin van Walk ::listen – solar::, and got to have a final recording session with a piano player named Fumi and Kevin, again ::listen – space leaves::.

In the madness of the end of the semester, I did a photo shoot with a girl named ::Christy Turner::, who was rekindling an old project that captures musicians and the relationship they have with their instruments.  Ruby and I had a great time.  And now I’m a model.  Yeah.

Image

Aside from last music sessions, packing up my entire apartment having a very successful going away party and saying last goodbyes, Morgan and I adventured to Crater Lake — the “used-to-be-mountain-then-exploding-volcano-then-crater-then-lake.  It was supremely beautiful and incredibly blue.  We spent 3 days, 2 nights there and hiked maybe a little less than 20 miles total, including a long trek that took us down to the lake.  The weather was great the second day, but we woke up on the third day to snow and high-tailed it out of there.

Image

Leave a Reply

